Tabula Rasa

Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

Sometimes you just need to start over.

Rebuild things from the ground up.

Whether you need to tear everything down yourself, or maybe things have come down on their own, every once and a while you may have to hit the reset button and begin again.

Six years ago, I had to rebuild my life from the ground floor. Facing several health challenges, I took on the sport of running and started making several other life changes that resulted in me eating healthier, losing over 50 lbs, and eventually running a marathon. I documented most of that journey here on this blog.

Three years ago, I started suffering from chronic pain in my Achilles. No matter what I did, I couldn’t shake the pain.

So, two years ago I gave up on running.

Not only did I stop running, I stopped doing any form of exercise. I managed to convince myself that since I owned a 10 acre farm, I could get my exercise by doing various chores around the property.

That plan didn’t work.

Fast forward to this past Thursday. At my annual doctor’s appointment, I get hit with some fairly unsettling news:

Steve, your cholesterol is high.
Steve, your glucose is high.
Steve, your blood pressure is high. 

As I sat in the doctor’s office listening to the results of my lab work, I slowly took full ownership of the situation I now found myself in.  It was a short 3 years ago that I was health and fit, and running marathons.

And now I’m basically right back to where I started.

And I did the only thing I knew to do when I needed motivation and something to get me back running the roads again – I signed up for a race.

I’m now registered to run the Route 66 5K on November 18th. In comparison to where I use to be a few short years ago, it’s not that big of deal.  But considering where I’m at physically and mentally at the moment, it’s everything.

It’s an opportunity at rebirth.
It’s a chance to rebuild the routines and rhythms that made me a better person.
Most importantly, it’s a chance to regain control of my health so I can be around when my wife and kids are older.

As I look back at my previous journey, I tried to figure out what things made it so successful. The number one thing I can point to is regularly posting updates to this blog on a weekly basis.

I have to institute some sort of accountability into my routines as I start setting goals and working toward them, and this blog has been a key factor and tool for making those types of changes in the past.

So, I’ve wiped the slate clean. Started over. I’ve nuked my entire archive of posts (over 4 years worth) and am starting with a blank page.

Drastic, but necessary.

The plan is to publish a post each week. Topics include: Running, Writing, & Homesteading. With running, it will mainly be the weekly log of my training runs. With writing, I plan to post progress on a screenplay I’m currently working on and hope to have done by the end of the year. And finally, with homesteading, I’ll post stories about the various shenanigans that happen here at the farm and chronicle our journey toward growing our own food and life in rural America.

Current Goals:

  • Running – train and run the Route 66 5K on November 18th
  • Writing – finish the screenplay for “The Scout” by end of year.
  • Homesteading – growing food and prepping for the fall harvest, getting ready for winter.

And so it begins..

Write a comment

